The Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) awarded the Marina Gardens Lane government land sale site to EL Development Pte Ltd on 26 October 2026, for S$450,100,000, or S$13,379.11 per sqm of gross floor area (GFA): about S$1,243 per sq ft per plot ratio (psf ppr) by our conversion. The tender had closed on 15 October, and URA's closing release referred to the "tender bid received", in the singular. For anyone watching Marina South, the award names a developer and a land price, not a project, launch date or selling price, and the next residential tender to close, at Orchard Boulevard, follows on 29 October 2026.

URA's award release gives the successful tenderer, the price, the site area and the maximum GFA, but not the number of bids. The closing annex, which URA says gives details of the site and the bid, is a PDF we could not open on 16 October, 26 October or 27 October 2026. This page sets out what URA's own pages confirm, how the 2023 award of an earlier Marina Gardens Lane parcel compares, and what a land tender can and cannot tell a home buyer.

At a glance

  • Tender closed: 15 October 2026, for a site launched on 13 August 2026 under the second half 2026 (2H2026) Government Land Sales Confirmed List. URA's closing release says its annex gives "details of the site and tender bid received".
  • Award: announced on 26 October 2026, 11 days after the close, to EL Development Pte Ltd for S$450,100,000, or S$13,379.11 per sqm of GFA. S$13,379.11 ÷ 10.7639 = about S$1,243 psf ppr (our conversion).
  • Site: 6,007.4 sqm with a maximum GFA of 33,642 sqm, for residential use with commercial at the first storey, on a 99-year lease, according to the award release. URA's Current GLS Sites page (last updated 27 October 2026) lists it at 0.60 ha and a gross plot ratio (GPR) of 5.6, now "Awarded". URA estimated about 390 homes, near Marina South MRT station.
  • Next to close: Orchard Boulevard, on 29 October 2026 between 9am and 12 noon: an estimated 110 homes on 3,438.0 sqm, offered on a 99-year lease, according to URA's site page.
  • Earlier parcel: a separate Marina Gardens Lane site was awarded on 11 July 2023 for S$1,034,480,000, or S$15,085.82 per sqm of gross floor area.

What did URA publish on 15 October?

The release has four short points: URA closed the tender that day; the site was launched for public tender on 13 August 2026; the annex gives "details of the site and tender bid received"; and the release "is not an announcement of tender award".

The wording is singular. When the Lorong Puntong / Sin Ming Avenue tender closed a month earlier, URA's closing release referred to "tender bids received". Our reading of the two releases side by side is that Marina Gardens Lane drew one bid. URA does not state the number in words, and its grammar is not a formal count: the Lorong Puntong release also says a decision follows "after the bid has been evaluated", although it refers to bids received. The award release of 26 October names only the successful tenderer and gives no bid count, so one bid remains our inference until the annex can be read.

The unit figure also needs its label. URA's 13 August release said the site "can potentially yield about 390" homes. That is a planning estimate, not a developer's unit count.

Can a single bid still be awarded?

Yes, it has happened this year. On 12 May 2026 URA awarded the Holland Plain site to its "sole tenderer", Sim Lian, five days after the tender closed on 7 May. An award is not automatic, though: URA's tender pages state that "the Authority reserves the right to reject the highest or any tender".

The recent gap between closing and award has been short. Lorong Puntong / Sin Ming Avenue closed on 15 September 2026 and was awarded on 18 September. That is a pattern from recent releases, not a promise, and Marina Gardens Lane took longer: its award came on 26 October, 11 days after the close.

How does the 2023 Marina Gardens Lane award compare?

The earlier parcel is a different and larger site. URA's 2023 award release gives these figures:

  • Land and floor area: a 12,245.1 sqm site with a maximum gross floor area (GFA) of 68,573 sqm, for residential use with commercial at the first storey.
  • Price: S$1,034,480,000, or S$15,085.82 per sqm of GFA. At 10.7639 sq ft to the square metre, that is about S$1,402 per sq ft per plot ratio (psf ppr), our conversion.
  • Dates: launched 5 December 2022, closed 27 June 2023, awarded 11 July 2023, on a 99-year lease.

For the 2026 site, the award release gives the exact figures: 6,007.4 sqm of land and a maximum GFA of 33,642 sqm, also residential with commercial at the first storey, on a 99-year lease. S$450,100,000 ÷ 33,642 sqm = S$13,379.11 per sqm, matching URA's figure, and S$13,379.11 ÷ 10.7639 = about S$1,243 psf ppr. Per sqm of GFA that is about 11% below the 2023 parcel's S$15,085.82, for a site about half the size (our arithmetic). Two awards three years apart, on different parcels, are two data points, not a price trend.

What does a land tender mean for a future Marina South buyer?

Less than a headline suggests. A tender result tells you which developer bought the lease on a piece of land and what it paid. It does not tell you the project's name, launch date, unit mix or selling price, and this page does not predict any of them. The land price is one of many costs a developer carries.

A short checklist for your new-launch research file:

  1. Record the site, the GPR and URA's unit estimate, labelled "URA estimate, not the project".
  2. From the award release, add the developer (EL Development Pte Ltd), the price per sqm of GFA (S$13,379.11) and the date (26 October 2026).
  3. When a project is announced, check the developer's licence before you pay anything. URA's housing developers page explains the licence and links to its licence and sales-suspension checks.
  4. Judge any eventual launch against your own needs, not against land prices, using our method for a clear project comparison.
An empty waterfront land parcel marked with survey pegs, with tall buildings across the water at dusk
Conceptual illustration: an empty plot marked out by survey pegs beside the water; it is not the Marina Gardens Lane site and shows no planned building. Illustration by Olano editorial, made with AI assistance.

What closes next, and what is changing near Orchard Boulevard?

Orchard Boulevard is the next residential tender to close, at 12 noon on 29 October 2026. URA's site page gives a site area of 3,438.0 sqm, a maximum GFA of 9,627 sqm, an estimated 110 homes and a 99-year lease. Those two figures work out to a plot ratio of 2.8 (our arithmetic).

Separately, on 2 October 2026 URA gave notice of a proposed plot ratio increase at Tomlinson Road, from 2.8 to 3.5 for parts of three lots, with objections due on or before 31 October 2026. URA's list of proposed amendments places those parcels at the junction of Tomlinson Road and Orchard Boulevard. The notice does not say whether they are linked to the tender site, and we could not establish that, so do not assume the tender site's plot ratio will change.

After Orchard Boulevard, URA's Sites For Tender page lists Town Hall Link on 17 November and East Coast Road on 3 December 2026. For what the Town Hall Link white site means for the west, read our Jurong Lake District guide. More dated market notes sit under research.

Common questions

How many bids did the Marina Gardens Lane tender receive?

URA has not stated a number. Its 15 October 2026 release refers to the "tender bid received", singular, while its Lorong Puntong / Sin Ming Avenue release a month earlier said "bids", and the 26 October award release names only the successful tenderer. Our reading is one bid; URA's annex, which we could not open, has the details.

Who won the Marina Gardens Lane tender?

EL Development Pte Ltd. URA awarded it the site on 26 October 2026, 11 days after the close, for S$450,100,000, or S$13,379.11 per sqm of GFA, about S$1,243 psf ppr by our conversion.

When does the Orchard Boulevard tender close?

At 12 noon on 29 October 2026. URA estimates 110 homes on a 3,438.0 sqm site offered on a 99-year lease.

Does a land tender tell me what a Marina South condo will cost?

No. It shows what a developer paid for a land lease. It does not set a launch date, unit mix or selling price, and this page does not predict one.

Sources

Something changed or worth adding?

Send a correction or suggestion